Skip to main content

Settings

All settings regarding merging are specified here.

Default settings are provided that can be retrieved any time by pressing the Reset To Default button.

Settings Reset Buttons

After changing any items on the settings page, the merchant should press the save button for changes to take effect.

tip

In order to save the changes made to the settings, the Save button must be pressed, otherwise, changes won't take effect.

Settings are divided into some sections which are explained in detail:

Order Properties#

Settings generally related to the orders are placed here.

caution

Pay attention! This section consists of the most important settings.

Merging Similar Items#

The first one is about similar items of different orders. Some store managers may prefer to have similar product variants from different orders in separated items in the merged order. This way discounts of different orders are visible in the merged order and no data is lost in this process. On the other hand merging similar items keeps the order's item list clean and the new order would look like a brand new order. Custom items are not merged unless they are completely the same. The following pictures show Keeping Separated and merging options respectively (Pay attention to the Antique Drawers items):

Keeping separated:

Keeping Similar Items of Different Orders Separated

Merging:

Merging Similar Items of Differrent Orders

Shipping Line#

Since shipping costs are reduced by merging different orders into a new combined order, the new order can have a lower shipping cost and the shipping line can be derived from the cheapest, the most expensive, the oldest, or the newest order. The store manager can keep all shipping costs and select the shipping line title from different options.

Shipping Line Options and Title Selection

Refund Unused Shipping Rates#

Shipping lines to be used were specified in the last section but here store manager decides to whether refund unused shipping rates or not. Be aware that only paid orders would be refunded by activating this option.

info

Mergify doesn't transfer refunds, transactions, order risk, or other financial or order associated data. So merchants can refund orders using original orders.

Archive Merged Orders#

After combining orders to a new order, original ones could be archived to keep the open orders list up to date. Of course, original orders can be used for refunding and other matters relating to them. This is the recommended setting.

Cancel Merged Orders#

Original orders can be canceled. This is the absolutely not recommended way of managing merged orders and merchants should be completely aware of its consequences. According to Shopify rules, Mergify cancels all fulfillments of the order and restocking will not be made

danger

Canceling orders is irreversible and can't be undone!

Set New Order Value To 0#

If making test orders is not suitable for you, this is the recommended way of using Mergify alongside archiving original orders. By checking this option, the newly created order would have a 100% discount on the whole order and the customer is not charged again for the items of the order. This way store analytics would not be affected by the merging process. The only remaining price would be the shipping line price which is specified by previous settings and all unused shipping rates could be refunded by its regarding option.

Order With Zero Price

Make the new order as a test order#

This is the recommended settings for creating new orders. The test orders do not have associated transactions, therefore nothing is changed on the analytics, even number of orders or the average order value (AOV) is not changed. All items can have their actual prices which are reflected on the shipping slip.

Test Order

Note And Tags Properties#

Managing orders by tags is a conventional method. In order to differentiate between orders created due to merging, normal orders, and combined orders tags and notes can be used. The store manager also can decide to whether transfer order tags and notes to the new order or not. There are four options available:

  • adding custom tags to the new draft order
  • adding custom tags to original orders
  • adding a custom note to the new draft order
  • adding a custom note to original orders
Note And Tags Properties

These custom tags and notes would be appended to the existing tags and notes of the order.

Activating each option opens an input section with some buttons for dynamic tags. Merchant can use these buttons to add some dynamic data to the tags. These tags would be rendered with actual values on the draft order and order page.

New Order Tags

Original orders tags and notes have some dynamic tags with data regarding to the newly created order. As described before pressing the merge button on the dashboard page creates a draft order that provides the store manager with the ability of editing orders. Hence data regarding the new order would not be available before completing the draft order. Tags and notes containing these dynamic tags (new-order-id and new-order-name) will be added to the original order when the draft order is completed.

Original Order Tags

Notes have similar functionality to tags. Tags longer than 40 characters would be added to the note section instead of tags.

Note Options

At the end of this section, there is a Show More button that shows other settings with less importance.

Customer Properties#

In this section, the billing address and email of the new draft order are selected from the oldest or the newest order that has these data.

Customer Options

Metafields Properties#

Each order has some other data which can be transferred to the new draft order. Custom attributes, Metafields, and localization extensions settings of the new draft order are selected here from these options:

  • Keep All
  • Discard All
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Customer Options